Lawsuits open fire against karaoke piracy in Knoxville

Sea Battery

World Wide Digital Entertainment, LLC and Piracy Recovery, LLC, have opened fire in the first of what promises to be a long series of lawsuits, alleging copyright and trademark infringement by 37 hotels, taverns, bars, restaurants and individual KJs, in two separate legal actions in the Knoxville and Tri-Cities metro areas. The full story with video (sorry, no embed) on the WATE-TV website can be found here.

These suits mark the first foray by the two companies into the seemingly-endless series of legal actions aimed at curbing the spread of pirated karaoke. The psychology of the effort seems pretty clear-cut – it’s basically the carrot and the stick, or more specifically, the carrot or the stick.

As cheap as it is to access huge libraries, and either tether them to a system or stream them on demand, it is getting more and more difficult to understand the attractions (and risks) of pirating karaoke.

2 thoughts on “Lawsuits open fire against karaoke piracy in Knoxville

  1. It seems to me the deck is stacked in favor of the accusers right now –

    Me: I would like to proactively prove to you that I own the content I use.
    Piracy Recovery: We have no process for this.
    Me: So I have to wait till you sue me before I can prove it to you?
    Piracy Recovery: …….

    I watched the news article and I am interested in knowing how karaoke hosts can pro-actively work with DigiTrax, Piracy Recovery and World Wide Digital Entertainment to ensure they are not named in a lawsuit. As a computer based karaoke host, no one will ever see discs at any of the 3 karaoke venues where I work. Yet I have 7000 discs, a Sound Choice GEM compilation, and not just one, but two of the Chartbuster 12000+ drives that were sold before CB went out of business. But there is currently no method for me to collaborate with any of the interested parties to ensure that they know I have all of my original discs.

    Sound Choice has suffered a public relations black eye due to their lawsuit methodology. In part because they sued a small number of hosts that were later found out to be perfectly legitimate. I hope the entities named above are taking more stringent steps to help ensure that doesn’t happen in the future.

    Chartbuster has been gone for over a year now and we still don’t have a certification program to replace the old one. There is no way for me to proactively demonstrate to interested parties that my Chartbuster content is valid. While I am confident I can prove I own all of the content I use in my karaoke shows, I want the aforementioned groups to know this BEFORE they investigate my shows. I won’t take very kindly to being “investigated” and then sued when I have tried to reach out beforehand to prove I am a legitimate host – and no one else should either.

    • Proving it is easy. I don’t know why so many people are crying about this.
      2 answers.

      1. Receipts ie. digital, paper or a bank statement showing the charges.
      2. The physical discs themselves.

      As it is illegal to copy and distribute any copywrighted material for financial gains or to just give away, it is howver perfectly legal to make a copy, be it ripped to a hard drive or a duplicated disc, and use it yourself in place of the original thereby ensuring the original never gets damaged.

      People should be a bit more smarter.

Leave a Reply

