No Darlin’s For Dolly: The country music icon discusses why she never had kids

Dolly opens up about her choice not to start a family (Photo: theafricom.com)

Dolly opens up about her choice not to start a family (Photo: theafricom.com)

The American dream has changed quite a bit over the last few decades. The house, white picket-fence, a dog, and 2.1 kids is no longer the driving force behind the aspirations of many American citizens. Still, we glom on to any stories in the tabloids or online having to do with our favorite celebrities’ personal lives, especially when it deals with their families. Why? Because family will always be an important aspect of American culture.

Country music icon Dolly Parton has opened up about her personal views on family and why she decided not to start one of her own during her legendary five-decade career.

“I grew up in a big old family with eight kids younger than me and several of my brothers and sisters came to live with me early on in my life,” Dolly told People Magazine. “I’ve loved their kids just like they’re my grandkids, and now I’ve got great-grand-kids!”

Dolly has always been upfront about her love for family, so why hasn’t she had kids of her own?  According to her, it just wasn’t meant to be. “I often think, it just wasn’t meant for me to have kids so everybody’s kids can be mine.”

Though she’s never had children of her own, the 68-year-old icon possesses a special affinity for kids, and they for her. And she has a pretty good idea why. “I think kids relate to me because they think of me like a Mother Goose or a Fairy Godmother,” she stated. “I’m like a cartoon character; my voice is little and I’m an excitable little person like them! I’m very childlike in that way, in my nature.”

Dolly has just released her 42nd studio album, Blue Smoke, available now on Amazon, Google Play, and iTunes. Also, check out Karaoke Cloud and our free Sing-N-Share app, where you can sing several of Mrs. Parton’s most famous tunes.

Leave a Reply

